Meet Our Team - Secondary

Heads and Deputy Heads of Secondary 

Name Title Qualifications Contact Email
Ms Jannine Webb
Head of Secondary
BEd Science (ECowan)
Mrs Anne Crock
Deputy Head of Secondary Teaching and Learning
BEd DipTeach - Mathematics
Mrs Karen Watts
Deputy Head of Secondary Pastoral Care and Inclusion

Welcome from the Head of Secondary

Welcome to the Frederick Irwin Anglican School, Secondary Campus. Our Secondary School is a welcoming environment where students are supported to thrive. The teenage years are a time of enormous growth, development, and learning. We provide our students with a well-rounded, curriculum and a broad range of co-curricular activities. Our holistic approach supports the development of the whole child and offers leadership development pathways, service learning, and promotes positive well-being.

Students are supported and enriched in their classrooms by teachers who are experts in their subject matter and the pedagogy that best suits the subject. Where students have additional learning needs, an individual learning plan may be developed to best cater for their needs. 

Students at each age and stage of learning have a House Group Teacher whose role is to mentor the students in their House Group and provide advice and support in all aspects of their school journey. Each House has a Head of House who provides additional leadership and support for all students in their House. 

Our Year 7 students commence their Secondary journey in the Year 7 Centre, where they are supported to gradually integrate into the Secondary School as they adapt from being in a single classroom with one teacher to negotiating numerous classrooms and many teachers. This progressive change allows students to develop their confidence and take on the additional responsibility of being secondary students. Students become additionally responsible and independent through Years 8-10 as they develop their areas of interest and special skills through exposure to broader academic and co-curricular opportunities. 

Our Year 11 and 12 students work toward attaining their WACE and can undertake ATAR, General, and VET pathways or a mixture of all three. In Year 12 our students have the option to complete a Curtin University enabling program which will provide them direct entry to a variety of Curtin University, Edith Cowan University, and Murdoch University courses. We provide a range of ATAR subjects that allow students to pursue areas of particular interest to them and meet any prerequisites of university courses. Our student performance in these subjects is always outstanding and leads students to a breadth of post-school options.

Heads of Departments 

Please contact the relevant Head of Department if you have any curriculum concerns/queries that you have not been able to resolve with the classroom teacher.

Name Title Contact Email Contact For
James Tabor
Guy Burbage
Head of English
Kevin Watson
Head of Physical Education
Sheryl Compton
Head of Humanities and Social Sciences
Anne Johannesen
Head of Library
Carron Thornton
Head of Mathematics
Jenny Crutchett
Head of Creative Arts
Jarrad Coxon
Head of Practical Arts
Mr Mark McFetridge
Head of Science and Digital Technologies
Gillian Learmonth
Head of Secondary Transitions

House System

More information to come from our new Pastoral Care document. 

Pastoral care is delivered via the classroom teacher, Heads of Year and House Coordinators as well as the Counsellor, Chaplain, Deputy Heads and Heads of Secondary.